Daily Blog

Day 155…

Friday 2nd February 2018

This morning I was woken up by the noise of my sister yaking about well I don’t actually know what about. I tried to go back to sleep as my alarm had not gone off, but of course I could not get back to sleep; between the noise of everyone walking about, yaking and what not; on top of my general ‘once I’m awake, I’m awake’ issues.

I have to be honest with you all. I was not happy to be woken up as yet again I had a shit nights sleep. I think my body is getting to used to these ‘double whammy’ tablets. Mirtazapine clearly are becoming less effective for the sleep side of things… and thus far they (still) haven’t helped to improve my moods any. I am due another trip to the doctors soon, for a med check up; so I will probably go on Tuesday (as I am now rotored? to work Monday😒).

Anyhoo. No signs of going back to sleep, I got half dressed and made m way through to the kitchen. A bowl of shreddies drizzled with honey and a cup of tea to start my day right. Rachael was with Mum in her bedroom, Eddie and Joseph were sat on the floor surrounded by toys in the front room. I settled on the sofa to eat my cereal and drink my tea, shortly after saying goodbye to Mum and Rachael.

Breakfast all done and dusted, I prepped and packed my lunch; a ham sandwich, a small bottle of Volic (Lemon ‘n’ Lime) Water and a packet of Cheese and Onion Squares – not very nutritious but tasty none the less. Joseph (due to his meds) had taken a gigantic dump which was all up his back as no-one had taken his pull ups from the night before off. I took him to the bathroom in an attempt to clean up, Eddie lended a hand. I then ran a bath for the boy to hop in so we could clean him up properly.

Breakfast eating, lunch sorted and Joseph bathed I decided to restore my iPod AGAIN! Loading my laptop, plugging in my iPod and factory resetting it for what feels like the millionth time this year.

While that did it’s thing I played with/ watched Joseph play.

I love watching Joseph play, its amazing how kids minds work and how their imagination develops.

Anyhoo.. I head for the bus to work, getting the slightly earlier bus so arriving just a tad before half ten. I get in to jugs everywhere and Dave cleaning the lines. He was taking forever, literally. So enjoy a series of snaps I took whilst waiting:

Oh yeah that second to last snap reminded me; thank f**k for dry shampoo. Okay so yesterday I was debating whether or not to wash my hair, I decided against it as for once it did not look nor feel greasy. Not even in the slightest! So I give hair wash day a miss, as lets face it; it is a looooonnggg task. Thus I go to bed with clean non greasy hair. To then wake up this morning with greasy back and sides, like borderline fry your chips in my hair greasy – not a happy bunny. Luckily I had a can of dry shampoo, so I sprayed that in a boom it was looking alright; got to work and it was as flat as a pancake!? Like what the hell hair, do me a favour. Alas, on with the day.

Eventually Dave finished cleaning the lines, leaving me 5 minutes to do my usual opening up routine; naturally I did it all in time😜. Doors open at 11am prompt, not a soul to be seen. Where are Russell and Wayne!? Friday is NOT a scheduled ‘pants day’ guys – not fair man, I was on my own😔. Hope you guys are okay!

Restocking done, getting ready to scrub the glasswasher then Julia, Nigel and Rosie🐶 arrive. Following suite two lattes on the go, I also treat myself to a hot chocolate. As I am steaming my chocolate milk Nick arrives to join the party. I jump into the top bar to greet him and start pouring up his pint; having a catch up during the process. Looking forward to our usual Friday catch ups normally followed by a crossword or two. Chatting away whilst cleaning then another customer comes in bottom bar.

Naturally I stop mid conversation and mid cleaning to go and serve. Only to find it was old boy Nigel and he had only come in to see me. Just taken a tumble whilst getting off his bike, bless his cottons. This is the first time I have seen Nigel in ages. He thanked me for the christmas card that Emma passed on for me, cheers girl😘.

Nigel asked how things were going before presenting a bracelet, an amethyst heart key chain and a birthday card; explaining that he does think of me when he doesn’t see me. He told me the bracelet and keychain were free gifts with other things he purchased and he would like for me to have them. Nigel know amethyst is my birthstone so he found it quite apt.

Nick got a phonecall whilst I was chatting to Nigel. Once ending the phonecall he informed me he needed to leave and that he would come back later for his one in the wood. I was sad to see him go, as we always have a good chat and I was hoping for a crossword session.

(Old boy) Nigel used to always try and give me gifts, his late wife’s jellewery, necklaces, bracelets – you name it. I always politely declined but he was sneaky and left a couple in an envelope, handing it over to another member of staff so I could get it when I was next it – crafty.

When Nigel first started coming in, he took a great liking to me; ensuring he came in weekly to see me. Apparently I remind him of his late wife, but after months of weekly visits; he informed me with tears in his eyes, that he could no longer come in to see me as it hurt him too much. Which confused me greatly at the time. I felt as if I broke his heart by just being friendly. Maybe I remind him of his wife too much, I don’t know. Anyway a few months went by and he started coming in again, saying he missed our chats.

Later in the year he then could only get down on the days I was off, so he had weekly visits with Emma for a while. Apparently he always asked about me or brought me up in conversation. I don’t know whether to be flattered, scared or creeped out. What started as just a general regular became an intense weekly visitor, to then not coming in, bit then ‘not being able to stay away’.

So yes I don’t see him regular now as he comes in on a Tuesday (Emma’s shift). I was pleased to see him as it has been a while and Emma had mentioned she hadn’t seen him in a couple of weeks, which worried me.

As we are chatting and I am serving him, in walks another Friday regular whose name I do not know. He rides a bike, drinks fosters and usually brings his own jug (pint glass). This man comes in most Fridays and we always have the same kind of conversations. I say “Are you alright/okay?” to which he always replies “I’m alright babe, it’s the others out there that aren’t, not me”. He is an odd character but lovely all the same.

This bloke start yaking about ‘the flowers, the trees, the birds and the bees’. So I leave him and (old boy) Nigel to it whilst I scurry off to eat my lunch and do some more cleaning. I can see Nigel out the corner of my eye searching for me. Obviously trying to catch my eye and get me into another conversation but to be honest I had a job to do, cleaning and also eating my lunch.

Anyway after a while and a couple of drinks Nigel said his goodbyes and headed home. Leaving just this other man, Tony in TB and I.

Today I asked this bloke his name, the conversation went as followed: “I’ve never actually asked your name. What is your name if you don’t mind me asking?” to which he replies Joe Soap”. Followed by “Why do you wanna know my name anyway? I explained “Well I see you every week, we always have a good chat. I just would like to know your name.” He checks to see whose upstairs before looking at me and saying “I’m a paranoid person babe. You know me, you don’t need to know my name”.

Moral of the story, I still don’t have a clue what his name is. Ridiculous.

I continued cleaning inbetween listening to Tony babble on about different things. It was a day for passers by i.e. people coming in for one or two then heading off. Due to this Tony decided he would stay for a long time to ‘keep me company’.

One of the passers by was Dirty Dave, he popped in for a pint; we had a chat and he left saying he’d be back later with cake for me. Happy days! True to his word he got a lush chocolate fudge cake – what a champ.

All in all today was a sloooooww day, I truly couldn’t wait to go home. Despite the fact the later part of my shift got slightly busier with the likes of Jim, Marcel, Adam, Barry. Later followed by Richard, Nick and his friend Becca. I was SO glad to be heading home.

My diamond of a mother was waiting outside to take us home. Homeward bound…

I’ve only gone and done it again! Written some of it then not jotted anything down notes wise, now we are two days past it and I can’t remember how I spent my evening!? Whoops. Sorry folks.

Oh one thing I do remember is Adam cuddling up to me, then rolling away but he continued rolling until he fell out of bed!😂

Fuck knows how but he stayed asleep!! Through laughing I had to try and wake him up. The poor sod landed on the mini keg that came with his beer making kit😣. Ouch!

Until tomorrow my lovely readers.

Leave a comment